Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Owners Forum > Chris Craft
HELP! 84 mercruiser 350 engine oil leak! >

HELP! 84 mercruiser 350 engine oil leak!

Notices

HELP! 84 mercruiser 350 engine oil leak!

Old 09-16-2007, 03:15 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP! 84 mercruiser 350 engine oil leak!

hello everyone! I have a 1984 chris craft stinger 260 that i have been working on restoring and rebuilding for about 4 or 5 years on and off. It has twin 350's. I finally thought i was at completion when I took it out for my first run this year and i encountered an oil leak from hell! It appeared one of the engines lost oil pressure while idling out from the loading ramp. Didn't catch the drop in pressure till a couple of seconds before the engine died. I opened the engine hatch and there was a major puddle of oil in the bilge. I pulled engine, did a bottom end rebuild, dropped engine back in. Okay now i go to start engine up, noticed no oil pressure and there was the oil again in the bilge. I found the oil coming from around oil filter. I replaced that filter with a fresh one. same thing happened again. So i pulled the oil filter adapter off as well and replaced with a new one as well as new filter once again. Well problem was solved, took boat back out and engine ran fine for about a good hour. Well today went out to run engines on hose to check everything out before taking to lake, and there was no oil pressure on the same engine and oil was in bilge again coming fromoil filter. I am at a dead end and don't know what else to do! Does anyone recognize this and no how to resolve? Help greatly appreciated!
Old 09-16-2007, 03:31 PM
Registered

Received 407 Likes on 273 Posts

wow... get a pro to look at it! I have no clue either!
Old 09-16-2007, 05:29 PM
Registered

you may have some kind of blockedge after the oil filter, is it blowing out the oil filter seal ?
Old 09-16-2007, 06:09 PM
Registered