looking into 85 cat and trying to get insurance

Notices

looking into 85 cat and trying to get insurance

Old 07-17-2018, 09:03 AM
Registered
Gold Member

Received 7 Likes on 2 Posts
Default looking into 85 cat and trying to get insurance

I found an 85 Cat. I am trying to figure out how to get insurance on it. This is my first catamaran but I have had a few boats for the last 10 years. No claims or anything like that. The problem I am running into is the age. Was wondering what you guys are doing for insurance.
Old Yesterday, 08:58 PM
Registered

Received 413 Likes on 278 Posts

No answer yet!!??
but still a good question? Whatcha guys paying?
Old Today, 06:04 AM
Registered

Received 258 Likes on 119 Posts

I’ll open up a can of worms here. I’m not an insurance expert but I tried to purchase a 31 foot 1996 catamaran with 1600HP (800 per side) 18 months ago and got stifled and discouraged by the insurance cost. The asking price of the vessel was 70K. Insurance estimate was around 18K per year. From what I gather on these forums that’s over double what people are paying for a brand new 120mph catamaran with egg beaters at a purchase price of 700K. I don’t think insurance companies like insuring old catamarans with HP these days.
Old Today, 07:55 AM
VIP Member
VIP Member

Received 955 Likes on 553 Posts

Originally Posted by SecondWind
I’ll open up a can of worms here. I’m not an insurance expert but I tried to purchase a 31 foot 1996 catamaran with 1600HP (800 per side) 18 months ago and got stifled and discouraged by the insurance cost. The asking price of the vessel was 70K. Insurance estimate was around 18K per year. From what I gather on these forums that’s over double what people are paying for a brand new 120mph catamaran with egg beaters at a purchase price of 700K. I don’t think insurance companies like insuring old catamarans with HP these days.
SecondWind,