Cafe Racer question

Notices

Cafe Racer question

Old 07-12-2006, 12:08 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Cafe Racer question

I have been watching Cafe Racers for sale for over a year now. I am ready to purchase another boat but not many cafes are selling. Is it too high a asking price or are buyers stepping up to the 38 Top Gun instead. I am interested in purchasing but do not want to buy something that I can never sell. I have no experience with a boat of this size. What are the important items to look for?
Thanks
Old 07-12-2006, 12:35 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Cafe Racer question

Originally Posted by rslick
I have been watching Cafe Racers for sale for over a year now. I am ready to purchase another boat but not many cafes are selling. Is it too high a asking price or are buyers stepping up to the 38 Top Gun instead. I am interested in purchasing but do not want to buy something that I can never sell. I have no experience with a boat of this size. What are the important items to look for?
Thanks
I think what you are seeing is a buyers market on used boats. The prices on these cafe aren't to high.There just aren't alot of people buying used boats right now. You'll never go wrong with a cafe. Just my .02 Good luck
Old 07-12-2006, 12:35 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

It's not just Cafe's, I think it's all boats in general. I've never seen so many boats for sale at one time on OSO.

I think it's just a sign of the times.

There are 1200+ boats for sale today. In early 2005, there were about 600-700 at any one time.

Same with boat trader. 117,552 boats for sale today, in early 2005, there were about 70,000.

As with any boat, the most important items are hull strength and integrity - no damage, no water intrusion, no rot. A survey is a must, with moisture readings.