Classic or Just an Old Boat

Notices

Classic or Just an Old Boat

Old 09-24-2007, 06:46 PM
DTD
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Talking Classic or Just an Old Boat

Been watching this forum for a while and had to jump in. I have been casually looking for a boat and came across the following:

http://detroit.craigslist.org/boa/430563087.html

Boat looks good (especially at $3500), what do you think? Is it worth pursuing and if so what questions should I ask? I bet there are a bunch of hours - about how many before a rebuild?

Obviously I am new to this, so any help is appreciated

Paul
Old 09-24-2007, 06:56 PM
Registered

DTD, Looks nice but probably under powered. Whats important to you? What do you want to do? It won't be very fast maybe 40 mph.
Jim
Old 09-25-2007, 02:09 PM
DTD
Registered

Guess I am looking for something seaworthy, but also restorable/upgradable. I thought an older, quality built boat might be a good project. Speed isn't a beginning priority, but having a boat that could handle engine work/upgrade would be good. Also would need a cabin for the kids.

I can work on most anything except the powertrain. Obviously from my first post, money is an object. Not sure if I should take on a project or just save for something newer.
Old 09-25-2007, 02:28 PM
Registered

Wow , $3500 seems like a great price. You can`t go wrong with a Formula. They are a very well respected name, both in the performance boat world and in the cruiser world.

It`s in the water, no trailer ... I would want to inspect the bottom for blisters. See if you can find someone who is experienced in checking the stringers and transom for rot and bring them along.

If it all checks out and engine / drive seem good, I`d buy it.

Of course, you`ll need a trailer too.

If you buy it and want to upgrade to a newer boat later, that one should be easy to sell, if you don`t dump a bunch of money into it.
Old 09-25-2007, 02:50 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts