Upgrading the fuel system question >

Upgrading the fuel system question

Notices

Upgrading the fuel system question

Old 08-24-2022, 01:39 PM
Registered

Received 54 Likes on 38 Posts
Default Upgrading the fuel system question

Hey guys, so Im new to the world of building a more high performance boat, here is a little history I have a 1996 Baja 252 with a (not original to the boat 502 Mag MPI) and I am looking to do some upgrades. The boat is in great shape but the engine is just down on power and it has been consuming some oil so I figure it is time to freshen it up over the winter. The boat was born with a 454 MPI in it, not sure if t was a Magnum or not but it still has what I believe to be original MEFI2 computer now adapted to the 502 Mag. After speaking to someone on this topic I could be running out of fuel on the top end causing it to just stop pulling after 4K RPM and nose over.

Regardless of the current situation this is my plan:
  • bore the stock 502 out to a 509Cid
  • Rods/pistons for a 10.0:1 comp
  • aluminum heads ( open cooling put fresh water only)
  • Not sure of cam profile yet but would like to get slightly aggressive
  • 525 EFI intake
  • Eddie marine thunder manifolds with dry tip risers
  • Holley HP stand alone EFI system
  • Sieman Deka injector

To get back on point with this topic, what type fuel pumps are the more high performance boats running? I am very up to date with the fuel injection world in cars but I do not know if it also adapts to the world of boats.

Option A
  • Good quality inline fuel pump (400LPH)
  • Good quality fuel pressure reg with 1 to1 boost reference incase I ever all a blower
  • Feed the pump with a -10 AN line from the tank and to a Y-block then from the Y-block -8 to each fuel rail.
  • Out of each rail with a -8 to the regulator
  • -8 line from the reg back to the tank for a good return system

Option B
  • Good quality fuel pressure reg with 1 to1 boost reference incase I ever all a blower