Notices

Multi-battery charger

Old 11-28-2022, 09:19 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Multi-battery charger

I have been using a ProSport multi battery charger for a few years now and while it works it has a major flaw with my duty cycle. While connected to shore power with house loads like lights on it fails to sense that the battery is running down. Eventually I will notice the lights are dimming, check the voltage, and reset the breaker so that the charger starts a fresh cycle.

I recently got a second boat with two batteries and am evaluating my options for a shore power charger. Any advice or product recommendations are warmly welcome.

Mariner 28 Sloop
Wellcraft Elite 222 XL
Old 11-29-2022, 04:35 AM
Registered

Received 972 Likes on 442 Posts

Very happy with my Noco Genius triple battery charger.
Old 11-29-2022, 03:21 PM
Registered

Received 320 Likes on 170 Posts

I had a ProSport fail after just a year. I replaced it with a 2 bank Noco and it has been working great. The Noco seems to be built nicer, and it takes less room.
Old 11-29-2022, 06:02 PM
Registered

Received 289 Likes on 167 Posts

I have a few of the NoCo. Very cool.

https://no.co/products/charging/gen

Old 11-30-2022, 11:40 AM
Registered

Received 527 Likes on 212 Posts

The pro sport 20 draws 4.7 amps and there needs to be a 14 AWG extension cord hooked up to it. Unless you have a shore power cable hooked up to your house. That said, you only have 10 more amps on your house circuit. Pro sport battery chargers have a self-diagnostic which tells you if the unit is bad or each battery on a particular Bank. Can't explain your lights dimming/cycling the home circuit breaker, in your house unless you overloaded the circuit.