Notices

Testing the steering

Old 07-22-2023, 09:42 PM
Registered

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Testing the steering

Hi, my 1990 Larson senza spectre wanders at slow speeds, lists to port at high speeds but floats perfect. So, I’d like to learn more about diagnosis and checking my steering as I think that loose steering could possibly it and if not, then I just learned about the steering which isn’t all so bad. I don’t think anything was ever changed or replaced on this boat and so I have the privilege of fixing the things that have been going the past few years. I will be adding steering fluid but it’s important to note that my steering fluid is a decent amount below the fill line.
Old 07-23-2023, 07:35 AM
Registered

Received 330 Likes on 154 Posts

All boats wonder at idle speeds.
Old 07-23-2023, 09:09 AM
Registered

Originally Posted by liberator221
All boats wonder at idle speeds.
I need help checking the steering… I’m familiar with boats I’m just not a mechanic.
Old 07-23-2023, 09:18 AM
Registered

Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts

Originally Posted by Prestigeworldwideee
I need help checking the steering… I’m familiar with boats I’m just not a mechanic.
Ayuh,..... It's best done with 2 helpers, one at the steering wheel, 'n the other at the drive,.....

While one is holding the drive steady, the other shakes the wheel, while you inspect all the steering connection points,.....
Then the wheel is held firm, while the drive is shaken, while you check the connections again,....

What yer 1st post describes is known as V-hull wander,..... They all do it,....

As for the lay-over on plane, recheck the weight balance, or try a different prop,.....
Old 07-23-2023, 09:55 AM
Registered

Originally Posted by Bondo
Ayuh,..... It's best done with 2 helpers, one at the steering wheel, 'n the other at the drive,.....

While one is holding the drive steady, the other shakes the wheel, while you inspect all the steering connection points,.....