Revved motor with Bravo 1 in Trailering position >

Revved motor with Bravo 1 in Trailering position

Notices

Revved motor with Bravo 1 in Trailering position

Old 08-08-2007, 09:44 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Revved motor with Bravo 1 in Trailering position

I'm very new to boating and I made a mistake. I had forgotten the previous owner of the boat said not to run motor with drive up. Ayways I did today and revved it too as it made a large vibrating clunking sound. The boat was on the trailer and I never engaged drive. I was just warming up motor and revving it and wondered what the sound was. Anyways, I lowered drive and noise and vibration stopped. I'm wondering if I damaged something and now what will prematurely fail. Should i have drive checked out? What do you think might be damaged?

Thanks guys
Old 08-08-2007, 09:55 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You probably didn't hurt anything, you heard your u-joints screaming.
Its good practice not to run it with the drive up all the way. The joints spin all the time the motor is running.
Jim
Old 08-08-2007, 11:25 AM
Registered

First off, welcome! I'm pretty new myself around these parts, but there is a wealth of information on tap and lots of experience, which is why I like the place so much. I have a lot to learn still...

I started our first boat a couple of times in the trailer position and it always sounded real clunky until I lowered the drive. It was a bravo 1 x drive with 496HO. This is generally a no-no for the u-joints, but I never had any issues with that drive even after accidentally doing this a couple times. Just be sure you don't put it in gear in that position. I've read of more than one drive grenading from such behavior.