Gimbal or U-Joints

Notices

Gimbal or U-Joints

Old 07-09-2012, 08:40 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gimbal or U-Joints

Alpha 1 Behind a 454 making a pretty nasty noise when turning. Zero water in the bilge even after 6hrs on the water so I'm guessing I don't have leaking bellows... it is a thru-hull boat. Boat is pretty quiet when it's just idling, but sounds real bad when the drive is turned at all. Do I have a gimbal bearing problem or a u-joint problem? Boat is new to me so I can't speak to driving habits. I am nice to it getting on plane though!
Old 07-09-2012, 10:19 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 197 Likes on 76 Posts

A growling noise when turning the drive side to side is generally a sign of the U-Joints going bad. When a Gimble Bearing goes, it generally growls all the time. When you pull the drive off to check the joints, you can check the Gimble Bearing at the same time.

BTW, continue to treat that throttle very gently! That engine / drive combination was only offered for one year (1987) for good reason.
Old 07-12-2012, 06:10 PM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

bearingt will also be quieter when steering is straight. answer to your question is...yes. u-joints or gimball bearing. change both joints and the bearing.
Old 07-12-2012, 06:19 PM
Registered

U-joint would be first on my hit list.
Old 07-13-2012, 08:30 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

My locally marine guy said he didn't think it would be the u-joint (claimed he thinks they don't fail. It runs quiet as heck in a straight line! But makes nasty noise when the drive is turned.

And too stroked I know she gets babied out of the hole every time. Granted the boat isn't too heavy. There is a '87 241 Liberator in my marina with the same 454/alpha combo. Original drive!!!
Old 07-13-2012, 05:54 PM
Registered