Infusion explained

Notices

Infusion explained

Old 04-20-2018, 07:06 PM
Registered
Platinum Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Infusion explained

I have been doing infusion for over 10 years. I've infused hundreds of parts large and small. I've been asked what is the difference between infusion and vacuum bagging. Essentially, vacuum bagging is used mostly for installing core onto a fiberglass laminate. By vacuum bagging it you apply equal pressure to the core pressing it into the bonding material. The amount of pressure is determined by the inches of mercury that you achieve. Resin infusion is where you load all the fiberglass material and core dry into the mold, put it under vacuum and infuse resin into the part. Its a very simple but complicated process.

How does resin infusion work? I've read about it on the internet, but not in a very long time. Here's my version. I'm going to tell you how I build a 46 sport fish hull with just myself (I'm 63) and 2 helpers. I'll show you the photos and explain how its all done. The reason why I infuse everything is because its easier, makes a perfect part and I only need a couple of people to do it. With infusion there is only one laminate with multiple layers of fiberglass and core. With a typical wet lay up there are multiple laminates that all have secondary bonding. The bond between laminates is determined by how well the previous laminate has been prepped. Another words, grinding the fiberglass. Who grinds the fiberglass? The lowest paid guy. Its the most critical part of boat building. We have all heard of delamination. Essentially, its because the laminate was not prepped properly. Its impossible to have that with resin infusion. More to come.
Old 04-20-2018, 07:58 PM
Registered

Received 501 Likes on 259 Posts

SUBSCRIBED !
very easily could be the best technical thread in a long while
Old 04-22-2018, 08:29 AM
Registered

Received 23 Likes on 17 Posts