Top speed for a vintage 272 LS?

Notices
Formula

Top speed for a vintage 272 LS?

Old 08-25-2005, 04:56 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Top speed for a vintage 272 LS?

I am only showing 47mph gps I thought I saw some others getting closer to 60mph. I have the twin small blocks. with no power upgrades other than edlebrock carbs. I have 21p cleavers I think they are cleavers they are really old. it runs really strong oh and this was with four on board and maybe quarter of a tank of fuel.
I am still learning the trim game too. They were trimmed all the way up and my tabs were up too. so if you all want to share trim secrets let me know.
before this boat all I have owned is squirt boats.
Old 08-25-2005, 05:47 PM
Banned

Default Re: Top speed for a vintage 272 LS?

My 242 ran 62-65 with twin Sbc's.
Old 08-25-2005, 07:28 PM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by flatout
I am only showing 47mph gps I thought I saw some others getting closer to 60mph. I have the twin small blocks. with no power upgrades other than edlebrock carbs. I have 21p cleavers I think they are cleavers they are really old. it runs really strong oh and this was with four on board and maybe quarter of a tank of fuel.
I am still learning the trim game too. They were trimmed all the way up and my tabs were up too. so if you all want to share trim secrets let me know.
before this boat all I have owned is squirt boats.
You should be doing better than 47 mph. We need more info. What rpms are you turning at full tilt? Trimming all the way up is often not going to produce top speeds (cavitation). Is your hull dirty, moored in water? After these basic questions, then we need to know how you know the engines "run really strong". No offense meant here but, 47 mph doesn't sound like strong engines to me. Rebuilt lately? How many hours? Post some pics of the old bird for us.
Old 08-26-2005, 01:02 AM
Registered