New to Fountain Family >

New to Fountain Family

Notices

New to Fountain Family

Old 01-23-2010, 01:41 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Fountain Family

I am new to the Fountain Family. Bought a used 99 27 with an unmolested 502 this past summer as advised by you experienced folks to others - reasonable purchase price and not over the top to run - just to see if I would like it and it turns out I really do. The trouble is a few of the bow riders around here run as fast as I do. About 68 or so at 5000 rpm. Any relatively affordable tips to go a little faster? Short of buying one of the professionally done engines in the OSO classified or buying the 03 35 on here at Shogrens (super sweet). I am not a "motorhead" but believe I can manage bolt on type work just fine.
Old 01-23-2010, 03:24 PM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 4 Posts

Welcome to the Fountain family! Hope you are as happy with your boat as I have been for the last 4 yrs. My 1997 502 mpis were in need of a major rebuild. Before they were disassembled we thought it was just cam/lifters and exhaust that needed replacement but turned out to be bottom end issues as well. The mechanic where I store for winter claims that the least expensive way to add 45-50 hp to the 502 is soley with exhaust. An upgraded cam/lifter job would do nothing without better exhaust. The exhaust upgrades are not bad for a single engine boat-aprox. $2300. Adding 50 hp may get you 3-4 mph. Doing cam/lifters with the exhaust may get you 100- 125 hp/ 12k or so for twins. I repowered with 496 mag hos which are fresh water cooled which gave me a new start rather than investing in old rusty engines. Also consider lab finishing your prop for a little extra speed. My 2 cents. Good luck!
Old 01-23-2010, 03:25 PM
Ginger or Mary Ann?
Charter Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Only way to go faster is with more power, or hang with slower boats.