Port Engine Running Rich? >

Port Engine Running Rich?

Notices

Port Engine Running Rich?

Old 08-15-2010, 10:19 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Port Engine Running Rich?

Hey all- spent the weekend playing with my new to me 2000 35 Lightning w/ 500EFI's. Everything seemed to be functioning properly, but we noticed that across the board, the port engine would be running about 20-30 deg warmer than the starboard. Also noticed more soot on the swim platform around the port motor. They seem to be consuming fuel at about the same rate (within a gallon or two from side to side). Engines have about 220 hours on them. The valve springs were recently done by a qualified merc master mechainc. Fastest speed I could get out of the boat was 79mph gps. Props are 26" hydromotive (stock). Since I am new to offshore boats, I don't have a lot to compare it to, but the report from fountain says the boat should run at least into the low 80's. Couldn't get that out of her this weekend. Was running about 3/4 tank of fuel and two people with a relatively light load. Weather conditions ranged from flat water and no wind to light chop and 10mph winds. Didn't matter upwind or downwind, couldn't break 80. We also noticed the last time we did a run at WOT a "hot" or burning-type smell. Nothing looks out of place in the engine bay and water pressure was pretty close to the same side to side (maybe a little lower port side). I know this is a lot of reading but if anyone could chime in and either ease concerns or give me a direction to look in, it would be appreciated. Thanks!
Old 08-15-2010, 05:21 PM
Registered

Received 21 Likes on 11 Posts

Is there silent choice on boat ?
If so, is it definitely opening on problem motor ?
Old 08-15-2010, 07:44 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by northerndoc