new to powerboating, looking for driving tips

Notices

new to powerboating, looking for driving tips

Old 12-23-2011, 10:54 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default new to powerboating, looking for driving tips

hey guys,

I'm new to the power boating world, and to this site, as far as an owner/ driver, but have been around a few fountain boats growing up. I recently purchased a 2001 29 fever with the 500hp efi single set up. some of you may know the boat, it is actually patomic fever's old boat. Absolutely am in love with the boat, couldn't ask for a cleaner 01, and patomic was a great guy to buy from. The weekend I got the boat home, I put it in twice for a couple 1 hour runs since it was pretty cool up here in early november but couldn't help myself before I had it winterized. I quickly got a feel for usinig the tabs, and also the trim on the drive and how it reacted in the conditions I was running the boat in. The first day was 50 degrees, with a strong 25 mph wind with good 3 footers in the open water but 6 inch to 1 ft chop on the backside of the large island I live near. When I ran the boat wide open, i ran the drive up to around 5-6, with the tabs backed completely off, with the wind at my back and also running with the current, and saw 78 mph on a hand held GPS! that was with a 3/4 tank of fuel on the gauge and 1 passanger. The second day, the conditions were 60 degress, and the water was very flat with only a 10 mph wind. Ran it wide open a few times for a bout a mile a piece, and saw 74-76 consistantly, with the same drive/trim adjustments as before with slight wind/current at my back. I do know that these numbers are fairly close, as I figured out how to use the recall on the garmin 192c gps that came with the boat, and that the hand held gps seemed to be only 1 off at the most when riding in a vehicle. I ran on the same tank of gas, so burning some, with 1 passanger again, and may i add that the boat was running 5300-5400 rpm on the analog tach