Dual battery with twins...

Notices

Dual battery with twins...

Old 03-19-2004, 08:32 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dual battery with twins...

OK Gang, quick question...I have a late 29 Fever with twin SB's. The question is how do most of you run your battery switching while underway? I believe that most Fountain twins have two batteries and two switches. I think I read a service bulletin from Mercury Marine that recommended running the batteries to their respective engine i.e. #1 battery/#1 engine - #2 battery/#2 engine and NOT run the switches in the ALL position. The reason for this was to ensure the ECU had the proper voltage at all times when underway. I have heard that running in the ALL position never allows the batteries to be completely charged. I am far from an electrical engineer and would like to have any input as to what others are doing with regard to battery "switchology". Like to hear from all interested parties. One more day to spring!

GF
Old 03-20-2004, 12:02 AM
Ginger or Mary Ann?
Charter Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I got twins, 2 switches, 2 batteries also and for the life of me I can't figure out how these damn things are wired up and which does what. So I just run with both switches in 'both' all the time. So far ok.
Old 03-20-2004, 09:33 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I take the Single Point of Failure approach: if you have both switches set to "all", then effectively you have just one battery, with double the amperage. While running, anchored, whatever, and something drains your "single battery" you're done.

Two batteries give you redundancy, provided they are operating independently. Switch engine 1 to the "1" setting, engine 2 to the "2" setting, and you're protected from battery drain.