Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
Another polisher recommendation needed... >

Another polisher recommendation needed...

Notices

Another polisher recommendation needed...

Old 03-11-2012, 10:54 AM
Registered

Received 19 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Another polisher recommendation needed...

Didn't want to hi-jack Dr. Dan's thread.

I have no experience at all with polishers and have a 2006 Formula 292 that I bought new. My routine for the gelcoat is twice a year any hard water is removed using Lime Away, then polish using Meguiars #45, then Collinite #885 wax. I do all this by hand and VERY happy with the results (see pic), so not looking for polish or wax recommendations. This gelcoat is as glossy and flaw free as it was brand new. The only thing I am not happy with is doing all this work by hand.

http://www.meguiars.com/en/marine/pr...loss-enhancer/

http://www.collinite.com/marine-wax/fleetwax-paste-wax/

Questions:
So in this application I do not need to do any 'correcting' of the gelcoat, just keep it polished and waxed like new. What is the best 'type' of polisher for this and what brand do you recommend? I am willing to spend the money for a quality product.

In this application would I still apply the #45 polish by hand then just use the polisher to remove?

What type of pads are best for polish?

The Collinite is a paste, so I would apply this by hand. What pad is recommend to remove wax, or do I still do this by hand?

Appreciate any other tips. Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails Another polisher recommendation needed...-292.jpg  
Old 03-11-2012, 11:01 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Don't know if anyone tried this Cyclo Polisher, the thing I like is that it is an American company and American made, if anyone cares.

http://www.perfectpolish.com/cyclo_p...for_paint.html

Last edited by JWoolever; 03-11-2012 at 11:05 AM.
Old 03-11-2012, 11:48 PM
Registered