wave heights Lake michigan airshow Saturday and Sunday 2014 >

wave heights Lake michigan airshow Saturday and Sunday 2014

Notices

wave heights Lake michigan airshow Saturday and Sunday 2014

Old 08-19-2014, 07:12 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default wave heights Lake michigan airshow Saturday and Sunday 2014

Ok, I'm not new to boating,, however I am relatively new to lake michigan, and boy did she throw me a memory I'll never forget this past weekend! !! We launched in Waukegan harbor on Saturday morning, me and 2 others in a powerquest 290enticer, my brief in his 290enticer and a friend in his donzi zx33. Air show was great! Had a few problems anchoring but finally got the hang of things. After the show my brother headed back to Waukegan. Myself and the other boat I was with headed towards Indiana to check out the dunes. We arrived at the dunes around 5 Chicago time. From the dunes we headed to the new buffalo yaht club. Hung out there waiting for a friend to arrange some slips for our overnight parking. Grabbed a bite to eat at the stray dog and went to bed. Next morning we followed my friend in a 35ft center council donzi across the lake to Chicago for the airshow, (should have checked the weather) guess some nasty stuff rolled in. Was flat as glass in front of new buffalo at 8am. We got 3/4 way there and the chop/rollers picked up. So, we stopped and chatted back and forth with one another, we said ehh, may as well head to Waukegan, shows canceled, weather was foggy, was just a **** day. Well, by that time the rollers started coming at us, I'm guessing from trough to peak about 3_4'.. about 15 miles up the shoreline things started getting hairy to say the least.. my balls of steel in my newtome 29' powerquest we shriveled up into my stomach. . My 2 passengers were looking at me like I should pull into a harbor or something dumb like that. Problem was there were no more harbors, the 33ft donzi next to me was having a hard time as well however no