Winterizing a Gen V 525 SC >

Winterizing a Gen V 525 SC

Notices

Winterizing a Gen V 525 SC

Old 12-02-2017, 04:44 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Winterizing a Gen V 525 SC

This is my first time winterizing this boat and I'm puzzled. I had both engines warmed up using the garden hose with an adapter that ties into a Y pipe at the back of the freshwater pumps. No issues and water exiting the exhaust tips as expected. I disconnected the freshwater source and using a 6' section of garden hose attached to the same port tried to suck antifreeze from a 5 gallon bucket. I was working alone and unaware no fluid was passing out the exhaust tips and the temperature came up to about 170 and I fried the impeller before shutting it down. The impeller only had about three hours on it. Am I wrong in assuming that the water pump can create suction? Or does it require pressure in order to circulate?

EDIT: I think I figured it out but I'm interested in any comments except those telling me I'm a dumba$$. I need to close the raw water intake valves.

Last edited by Thunderous; 12-02-2017 at 04:53 PM.
Old 12-02-2017, 04:53 PM
Registered

Received 452 Likes on 270 Posts

Needs pressure to get to sea water pump. I use a bilge pump in a bucket to get water to the pump. Gravity feed will not work and distroy impeller.
Old 12-02-2017, 05:06 PM
Registered

Received 178 Likes on 115 Posts

Originally Posted by underpsi68
Needs pressure to get to sea water pump. I use a bilge pump in a bucket to get water to the pump. Gravity feed will not work and distroy impeller.
If this is true, how does it work sitting still in the water at the dock?
Old 12-02-2017, 05:12 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by GLENAMY 242SS
If this is true, how does it work sitting still in the water at the dock?