Newbie to "The Boating World" >

Newbie to "The Boating World"

Notices

Newbie to "The Boating World"

Old 07-30-2019, 12:16 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie to "The Boating World"

I just retired 1 year ago on Marrowstone Island, WA. I've been looking for 3 years on Craigslist at boats every day practically, with no clue what kind of boat I was going to buy or how much to spend. Then it happened last month. I bought a well taken care of 2nd owner 1987 Mirage Intimidator 270 with twin 350 Mercs. I just passed my Boating Saftey Course last week, and this last Sat had my first maiden voyage in her, "Adventress". I had 2 novice boaters take me out to show me a thing or two. Please, any advice and direction on navigating this site or about my new toy would be appreciated. I'm new to this whole boating world. Thanks, Eric.
Old 07-30-2019, 07:32 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 254 Likes on 140 Posts

Congratulations! You have come to the best boating web site IMO. There is a wealth of knowledge here. I guess the only advice I have for you now is, take your time, launching, docking. Practice makes perfect.

Old 07-30-2019, 08:15 AM
SORE MEMBER
Platinum Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Put the plugs in and never approach a fixed object at a speed that is faster than you want to hit it (if the engine stalls)

And Welcome to OSO
Old 07-30-2019, 09:45 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Old 08-03-2019, 01:16 AM
Registered

Received 309 Likes on 188 Posts

Welcome to OSO. Being that you have a twin, I would suggest spending a lot of time practicing low speed maneuvering with just the shifters and maybe just a pinch of throttle. This practice will come in handy when loading onto the trailer or trying to dock in a cross-wind. It's very important to keep the wheel pointed straight ahead when maneuvering with just the shifters.