Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
Scale model of your own powerboat ?? >

Scale model of your own powerboat ??

Notices

Scale model of your own powerboat ??

Old 08-13-2004, 12:41 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Scale model of your own powerboat ??

Every where you look at hobby stores or toy stores you see die cast/ or plastic models of bikes,cars,monster trucks, go-carts,dragsters,lowrider bikes,etc ... but I have never seen any good realistic models of powerboats. I'm not talking about r/c models, but die cast, or even the kind you can put together such as plastic models. I would like to get some peoples opinion on wether or not this would be a good idea for a side job. Here is some background info about me. Im a 3d designer/web designer/graphics designer. I work for a game company called icarus studios at RTP modeling there in-game objects. I also work for a company called JadeLEarning INC designing illustrations for there online college course books. I also know CAD, I wanted to get on with Fountain's design team, but I can't move to washington yet. Anyhow there are sculpting programs that will literally sculpt out what I design on the computer, miniture scaled down versions of boats, or cars, anything. These machines are exact, what I create on the computer is exactly what comes out in either wood/plastic/foam/ or pvc whatever I choose. If I knew there would be a demand for something like this I would jump on it and make a website for it and everything. For example, If you owned a Cig TopGun and wanted a scaled down version that you could take to work or just have to put on a mantel. I am even going to do custom trailors that fit the boat as well so they will have something to sit on.