Notices

Career advice needed!!

Old 01-03-2005, 07:58 PM
Registered
Platinum Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Career advice needed!!

I need some advice or direction from my fellow OSO members. I’m a very talented 25yr old that is not sure of what career I should be looking into. Currently I am a shop manager for a great Car & Truck Accessories shop in Clintion Twp, Michigan (www.ss586.com). I have been employed there for 6 years and installing for 8 years. I’m awesome at what I do but I feel I have reached the top of the ladder. I am one of the best installers in our area, I have done many custom installs on boats as nice as 2003 59' Viking sport sedan, audio install that have shown in magazines, including fiberglass, experience with epoxy on my own boat (replaced transom), have build displays for Nokia Corp. and our show room, prototype install that were used to approach Ford Motor Company. I am great with wood, Formica, fiberglass, auto and marine electronics, and auto and marine repair. I like a challenge and am great with problem solving. I am definetly mechanically inclined. I think of opening my own shop but not sure if I want to compete against all the local business. What is a good field to go in with my type of knowledge? Should I consider opening my own shop? I am looking to make a good living so that my soon to be wife will not have to work when we have kids, I don’t want to have to sell my boat or other toys when the time comes.

Love to hear your thoughts, Thanks Kyle

Last edited by kmiller; 01-03-2005 at 08:03 PM. Reason: Spell check
Old 01-03-2005, 08:07 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Career advice needed!!

Become a teenager and sell watches over the internet.

Actually opening your own shop sounds like a good plan, but if it is competition you are worried about, you have to find a place where there is less of it.
Old 01-03-2005, 08:16 PM
Registered

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts