Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
Replacing gauges - what's involved? >

Replacing gauges - what's involved?

Notices

Replacing gauges - what's involved?

Old 06-22-2005, 07:48 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing gauges - what's involved?

My '96 Powerquest has all Faria gauges. I'd like to redo the dash this fall, and replace all the Farias with Livorsi or another quality brand. What is involved in a project like this?

Will I need to replace all of the senders back under the hatch, or can the new gauges use the same "back end" stuff (can you tell I do IT for a living? )?

Will I need to run new power to the dash or can I use what's there - I may need to do this anyway as the way PQ did their wiring back then is not optimal, at least from what I've heard.

Here's kind of what I'm thinking - the panels are currently this off-white color. Boat is predominately red, with touches of purple and green. Thinking of painting the panels red (or getting new ones made), using carbon fiber gauge faces, with polished stainless bezels. Red/stainless Dino wheel from Trick. The speedo will go and be replaced by a flush mounted GPS - it can display mph, why do I need a separate speedometer?

Any thoughts on what material to use for new dash panels, assuming I need them? Many thanks, I'll document the project when I get started, and I'm sure I'll be back for more advice!
Attached Thumbnails Replacing gauges - what's involved?-pq-dash-1.jpg  
Old 06-22-2005, 08:07 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Default Re: Replacing gauges - what's involved?

Dock,