Notices

antifreeze

Old 11-25-2005, 08:40 AM
Registered
Platinum Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default antifreeze

Has anyone ever winterizes with R.V., antifreeze rather than auto antifreeze, I realize you can't run it in a raditator but just for the winter in the blocks

thks Joe
Old 11-25-2005, 08:56 AM
Registered
Platinum Member

Default Re: antifreeze

I just read formulafastec's thread and I winterized almost same way, started motors till thermostats opened, hooked up my pump with R.V., antifreeze in it, let motors run till I seen good colour, put large drum under drives let circulate till reached 190. Same for other.
This is what I am curios about, I usually use auto antifreeze but very hard to clean up and expensive, this is my first time with R.V., I kept some of the solution fro km my barrel left it out last night and it started to freeze , not solid but slushy. I got very worried and rushed to the barn and put a heater in motor compartment and was going to use auto antifreeze this weekend, but then I thought maybee this is a characteristic of R.V., antifreeze.I now put solution in my deep freezer at home to see if it would freeze solid, it goes down to 0. Any input would be appreciated

thanks Joe
Old 11-25-2005, 09:12 AM
Ginger or Mary Ann?
Charter Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I wonder what the reasoning is with not being able to use it in your car because of the radiator.... aluminum?? I was going to use that stuff this yr also until all of them had the same warning. So just used the reg. auto freeze as in the previous yrs.
Have also read the RV stuff gets slushy when freezes, not solid. Guess that is the charcteristic of it??

How about windshield washer fluid at .89/gal.?

On that note, a buddy has used the RV stuff for yrs for his boats and boats that he does winterize for friends and never an issue.
Old 11-25-2005, 09:28 AM
Registered
Platinum Member