Need some tech advice from engine techs >

Need some tech advice from engine techs

Notices

Need some tech advice from engine techs

Old 09-11-2006, 10:56 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some tech advice from engine techs

oil sample is attached, it is comperable to another pulled and sent to a lab, no noticeable difference.

Engine seller and I will have to have a discussion about this but I need to understand it first, so I need a little education on this. Remember, talk to me like I am a 5 year old, I am new to this stuff.

The sample was pulled from the motor by a third party, according to the instructions given by the lab technician, so it is as good a sample as I can get.

THANKS!!!
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
oil sample motor 1.pdf (29.9 KB, 178 views)
Old 09-12-2006, 03:00 PM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Need some tech advice from engine techs

It appears from the recomendations that the metal (tin, iron and aluminum) are metals from break-in. The tin is most likely from the bearings, the iron from the cylinder walls and the aluminum from the pistons. The silicon may be traces of sand or broken glass bead dust from the cleaning process during a rebuild. At 37 parts per million on the silicon it doesn't sound serious, just unexpected. If a head or block is bead blasted, getting the residue out during cleaning is critical. Oil passage ways must be cleaned with brushes and cleaned with a hot soap and water solution to break the oil down.The calcium may have arrived during the cleaning process or it could be residue from lake water that has boiled off and left the calcium behind. My guess is the engine is new and just breaking in without any problems.

Last edited by Reed Jensen; 09-12-2006 at 03:07 PM.
Old 09-12-2006, 03:36 PM
Registered

this is from a motor that failed after one hour of operation. The engine seller said fuel in the oil caused failure, but I personally do not accept that from what I have seen.