bad gimble or what? >

bad gimble or what?

Notices

bad gimble or what?

Old 06-08-2007, 03:57 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bad gimble or what?

i have lots of play in my outdrive (bravo 1) and have narrowed it down to somewhere in the transom assembly. when i wiggle the drive i can see that the steering lever isn't moving, but the drive is. i weighed my options and decided to use ron bender's kit. i'm going to cut the whole out tomorrow. once i get it open, is it going to be very obvious if the gimble is bad, or if its just a stripped steering lever or swivel shaft? i have owned and worked on boats my whole life, but i'm a novice when it comes to outdrives. i am very confident that i can do the repairs, its just that i dont really know what to look for once i get the whole thing open. i have read that if i have up and down play that the gimble is bad. how do i check that. i have"literally" hugged the drive and tried to move it vertically, but i get no movement. any input or even pictures would be great. thanks in advance.
Old 06-08-2007, 04:44 PM
Registered

A great web site for info ishttp://www.mercuiserparts.com
They have lots of pics too.
hope this helps.
Old 06-08-2007, 04:50 PM
Registered

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

Zane .. how about keeping us updated with your findings and progress....m
Old 06-08-2007, 06:32 PM
Registered

i'll keep you guys updated on my progress. regardless of what i learn tonite, i'm cutting into the housing tomorrow.
Old 06-08-2007, 10:22 PM
Registered