Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
1997 502 MPI Issues - Vapor Lock? >

1997 502 MPI Issues - Vapor Lock?

Notices

1997 502 MPI Issues - Vapor Lock?

Old 06-17-2007, 07:15 PM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 1997 502 MPI Issues - Vapor Lock?

I was out today in a 1997 Checkmate w/ twin 502 MPI engines. After burning a few gallons of fuel we stopped to swim for a couple hours. The boat restarted normally but then after 3-4 minutes of low speed (1500 RPM) cruising both engines died. Both would restart and die and finnaly the starboard engine stayed running and the port engine would no longer start. I have only owned this boat a short time so I have little experience with the MPI engines (at this point some primative carbs sound pretty good). Do they have a tendancy to have vapor lock issues with the fuel system? I plan to try and restart both engine cold tomorrow and go from there. Any other suggestions???
Thanks.
Old 06-17-2007, 09:24 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

It sure sounds like vapor lock. What type of fuel system do they have? Do they have a VST tank on top of the engine toward the back behind the manifold or are they the cool fuel system? I had a 96 with the VST and they would vapor lock on the hottest days after running in no-wake zones. If you do have the VST tank you may want to pull the VST tank and take it apart (be sure to have a new rubber gasket to replace the old). There is a very fine screen on the bottom of the tank before the high pressure pump and it may be clogged or partially blocked causing fuel delivery issues. I had both issues and cleaning did help. Let me know if you'd like more info based on your EFI system.
Old 06-17-2007, 09:39 PM
Charter Member #1171
Charter Member

Received 21 Likes on 16 Posts

Do they have a sea pump mounted fuel pump?

Mercruiser eliminated this pump in a certain serial # range and they are suseptable to vapor lock.