Help AC Install Question >

Help AC Install Question

Notices

Help AC Install Question

Old 07-14-2007, 08:23 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help AC Install Question

I am installing a 5000 btu AC unit im my 2001 sonic 31 SS. My question is has anyone ever used the hose from the outdrive that sends water to the raw water pump? Does that hose have water in it at all times or does the raw water pump pull it up to the motor? The reason being is that I do NOT want to put a hole in the bottom of the boat if I can help it? Any thought on the matter would be apreciated.

Michael
Old 07-15-2007, 11:48 AM
Registered

I'm no expert, but it seems to me that the suction created by the raw water pump on the engine wouldn't allow much or any water into the AC system. This means it probably wouldn't ever work while the engine was running.

I know that the water pumps on the AC units are typically not very big and usually not self priming also. They rely on being below the water line in order to function. This may also present a problem if you're trying to use the outdrives water supply. Even though it is below the waterline on the outside of the boat, it can't possibly remain so all the way into the engine room.

We have a Mermaid system on our 32SS with a brass thru-hull and a ball valve. Seems to work fine. I hate extra holes in the boat too, but that's the price you pay for more gadgets and amenities.
Old 07-15-2007, 03:27 PM
Were doomed!
Charter Member

Received 990 Likes on 502 Posts

Do you have a sea strainer? many boaters use that as the water source for the pumps ont he A/C systems.
JohnnyG is right that the pumps do need to be below the water line as they are not self priming.
The boats that have systems that work when on plane have their own sepperate thru-hull pickup for the a/c system.