Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
New to boating... questions (90' Sunsation Rocket) >

New to boating... questions (90' Sunsation Rocket)

Notices

New to boating... questions (90' Sunsation Rocket)

Old 08-22-2007, 10:40 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to boating... questions (90' Sunsation Rocket)

Just picked up a 454/330HP Bravo1 Sunsation Rocket and I have some questions and am looking for some help and suggestions if any of you have a little time. You all may just tell me to get a service manual for the engine and drive... which is fine, but where would I get those?

I have experience with swapping motors in cars (mostly newer stuff, foreign), so I'm not a mechanical idiot... but I don't know old school American motors very well, and not much at all about outdrives, transoms and boat things like that.

The boat has ~430 hours on it now.

1.) What kind of speed should I see with this boat? It seems that I get ~63mph with 4 people and half a tank of gas on 1-1.5 foot chop. I can get about 4700RPMs with it, but I have to "trim up" to get it. I think I'm cavitating a bit to get that RPM... if I trim down a bit, I turn about 4200-4300 RPMs and a couple less MPH.

2.) How easy should it be to turn the prop with your hand when on a trailer? It seems that it has gotten a little harder to turn than when I first got the boat (could just be me). I was going to change the outdrive fluid (don't know if there's different fluid for different parts of the drive or what) but I don't see any clearly visible drain plugs on the lower section anywhere.

3.) Any performance mods that can be done for low to moderate prices??? Would it be better just to swap in an EFI 496 or something??? What's required for such a swap?

Questions like these. I have a feeling that I will be making posts for questions as I go along, but if anyone can help me out that would be really nice.

Thanks in advance,

-=Mike G.