Notices

A/C install

Old 04-14-2008, 08:51 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A/C install

Planning to install A/C in our Poker Run edition this summer and have a few questions?
(1) Is 5000 BTU large enough? (Not looking to turn cabin into a ice box just make it comfortable 80deg. at night with 80deg. water temp.)
(2) Considering 110 volt A/C vs. 12 volt D/C.
(3) Best location to mount self contained unit (under V-berth vs. port or starboard closet.)
(4)Best location to mount raw water clam intake for water circulation pump (engine bilge vs. mid ship under Cabin step)

Any other helpful tips appreciated

Thanks Steve
Old 04-16-2008, 07:45 AM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Ok, a 5000 would be the min. I would use, you need to look at where you can set the unit where you can get the wiring, water lines in out and condesation to drain overboard, mount the pump in the engine room BELOW the water line. I am a disttributor and installer for mermaid marina a/c and been in the marina a/c business for 21 years, feel free to give me a call and discuss, Rob @ E-Z Marine Specialties, 540-786-8111, also sell units cheap....
Old 04-16-2008, 08:53 PM
Registered

ezstriper
Thanks for the reply, leaning towards 110volt unit what size would you recommend? Also what do you you think about mounting water pump pick up on the transom above the bilge drain plug?
Thanks Steve
Old 04-16-2008, 09:14 PM
Ginger or Mary Ann?
Charter Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts