Want to supercharge my 454mag >

Want to supercharge my 454mag

Notices

Want to supercharge my 454mag

Old 09-10-2008, 11:37 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Want to supercharge my 454mag

I am new to offshoreonly forums so please direct me if this not the place to ask. I am wanting to supercharge my boat (26' Kachina w/ a 454 mag). Not sure on whether to get the whipple or procharger. My question is....am I going to blow my motor? Am I better off doing a engine swap? Any recommendations on who can install around the South West area and tune it right the first time. Hoping to find somebody out there thats done a supercharger on 454mag and can share their thoughts, ideas and experiences.... Bottom line is it well worth it, will I have to tinker with the boat all the time, can a bravo 1 drive withstand the power, or will the motor blow and have to replace it. I also would like to know what modifications are required to my existing motor prior to installing a supercharger. I know it all depends on how I drive it....but in my case it will be moderately and looking to gain a solid 10-15 miles more per hour @ 6000ft elevation. Right now its about a 53-55 mile/hr boat at 6000ft....63-65 close to sea level.
Old 09-11-2008, 08:13 AM
Registered

Ridin-Dirty,..

I've been doing alot of searches recently here on OSO about different build-ups for my 454. Seems like the reoccuring theme is to improve the exhaust first, then other modifications will yield larger improvements. The stock Merc mainfolds are the limiting factor. Exhaust upgrades are $$$ too if you get the good stuff.

Do some searches, and you might see that pattern too.

Joe
Old 09-11-2008, 11:04 AM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

It is a great bang for the buck. I slapped one on my 502 mag. The motor had 280 hours and upgraded head gaskets. It ran great.