Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
Water temps (carbed 500HP) !!!!!!! >

Water temps (carbed 500HP) !!!!!!!

Notices

Water temps (carbed 500HP) !!!!!!!

Old 09-21-2008, 01:06 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Water temps (carbed 500HP) !!!!!!!

I need the number to a good mercruiser engine place. I have been chasing a problem for 4 months. I am near chicago il. My issue is on my 500hp carbed. The gauge does not mimic the temp of the engine. My last try involved the following. I have replaced the sensor (located in the intake manifold behind the t-stat housing) and i have replaced the guage. I shot the engine with my laser temp gun just below the t-stat housing and it reads 152* but the guage reads 190*. I have two small holes drilled in my t-stat for water to my risers because i have a water crossover and my risers are at 90deg. And no the crossover has nothing to do with my false temp readings so you cant blame it all on the crossover as some do. Like stated the motor seems to be running perfect temps and all but i cant get a solid reading, any ideas guys.
Old 09-21-2008, 01:27 PM
Registered

Buy an inexpensive mechanical coolant temp gage and compare. I would at this point believe the senders and look for what is making it run hot. In that vein, I would first consider a lean condition.
Old 09-21-2008, 02:28 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by blue thunder
Buy an inexpensive mechanical coolant temp gage and compare. I would at this point believe the senders and look for what is making it run hot. In that vein, I would first consider a lean condition.
I can put my hands on the risers no problem and the motor is no where near the 190 the gauge is reading as i can put my hands on it for a bit and the laser says 150ish. The motor is definitely not running hot. Next ??
Old 09-22-2008, 12:44 AM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Are you sure the sending unit is the proper one for the gauge? Causing it to give a false reading.