oil cooler size,inner cooler plumbing >

oil cooler size,inner cooler plumbing

Notices

oil cooler size,inner cooler plumbing

Old 09-29-2008, 10:06 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default oil cooler size,inner cooler plumbing

I'm in the process of repowering my 85 chris cat and had a fiew questions, first on oil coolers, I have bell housing coolers with 8 plate coolers and was thinking of upgrading to 13 or 15 plate for the engine side. the motors are tall deck 572s with afr 357 heads whipple innercoolers and tbs 8-71s.
next question is on innercooler plumbing, what is the best method of supplying the innercooler for a twin engine cat, I have been told not to add any more pickups than needed, I was considering feeding innercooler by placing a inline tee after the sea water pump and using a preasure valve so it will not feed at slow speeds. This sounds like it will be the least complicated way of doing it. This is my first time posting so any suggestions will be greatly appreciated
Old 09-30-2008, 09:03 AM
Registered

anyone ????
Old 09-30-2008, 09:08 AM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

I've got mine right after the SW pump(T) full time.
Old 09-30-2008, 11:25 AM
Registered

Received 11 Likes on 2 Posts

How much power are the motors making? The plate coolers are extremely efficient and may still be more than enough, do you have an oil thermostat? What temp is the boat running currently? You have a couple options and there are many ways to plumb it depending on your setup. You can run a multi stage sea pump that can feed the intercooler as well as the motor. Here are a couple ideas-
http://www.cpperformance.com/Instructions/755-5005B.pdf

http://www.cpperformance.com/Instructions/755-5005C.pdf

http://www.cpperformance.com/detail.aspx?ID=8088
Old 09-30-2008, 12:10 PM
Registered

kennyo, you don't run a preasure relief valve, do you have any problem with fuel puddleing