help! 500efi conversion >

help! 500efi conversion

Notices

help! 500efi conversion

Old 06-18-2002, 04:11 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default help! 500efi conversion

Hello all, I have 2 '93 502 efi mag motors in my '31 Scarab and have the opportunity to get two brand new 500 efi intake systems.This includes -upper/lower intakes,distributors,computers,wiring harneses,fuel coolers,fuel pumps,air filters-----the works.Question is-will this set up work on the standard 502s'.I know the fuel(vapor lock issues)have to be better.But the rest I don't know.I do know I need to upgrade the exhaust system.Any help in the matter is appreciated.Thanks,Mike
Old 06-18-2002, 05:58 PM
Miami

i'm not a mechanic or a motorhead. I have some basic knowledge, gleanned over many years of paying for them in my boats & cars. You need to take my reply with many grains of salt.

You will be buying only a portion of the equation with the 500EFI intakes & misc. The heads, valves, springs, roller rockers and cam are all different between the two motors. Then yopu start with different pistons, rings, fuel pump etc. The CMI full headers are $2,500. a set each. It would seem like a lot of time, money and aggravation and still not knowing if the results will be. Mercury Racing hand builds these motors and dynoes them to assure exact tolerances and their production of 470pshp.

Old 06-18-2002, 08:22 PM
I hate the winter!!
Platinum Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I agree with Miami.
Old 11-18-2002, 09:56 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post