Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
Electrical problem I've been chasing for years.  Help??? >

Electrical problem I've been chasing for years. Help???

Notices

Electrical problem I've been chasing for years. Help???

Old 07-11-2002, 04:50 PM
Gone Fishin'
Charter Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electrical problem I've been chasing for years. Help???

I have had this problem basically since I bought the boat 8 years ago. When I turn on my nav lights, all my gauges back up. That is, they all change their readings, oil pressure goes from 50 to 30, volts goes from 14 to 12, etc... Only thing that is not effected is the tach, I put that in myself several years ago. And when I turn on my docking lights, everything really goes down a ways. Been pissing me off for years, but I'm not that good at chasing bad electical problems. To me it seems I have a bad ground somewhere. I have the stereo running to it's own buss bar grounded to the block and have no trouble when I turn that on with the other systems. The previous owner re-wired the entire dash when he CNC cut a custom dash panal for it (which looks awsome by the way). But I'm not sure he got the wiring totally correct.

Any thoughts on where to start???
Old 07-11-2002, 05:06 PM
Were doomed!
Charter Member

Received 1,110 Likes on 556 Posts

Sounds like you answered your own question there Mike! What i would do to verify its the ground is to try and run like an 8-10 guage wire from your batt to one of the ground wires in the dash and see if it still does the same thing.
From the sound of things the previous owner may have used the ground from the stock wireing harness in the boat that goes to the engine. Try and run a new gounding block or use that other one you have for you stereo/or tach. Hope that helps.

Money can't buy happiness, but it can buy horsepower. And I've never seen a sad person hauling a$$!
Old 07-11-2002, 05:11 PM
VIP Member