Wiring up a 10 pin harness in 88 formula help >

Wiring up a 10 pin harness in 88 formula help

Notices

Wiring up a 10 pin harness in 88 formula help

Old 05-07-2014, 07:40 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Wiring up a 10 pin harness in 88 formula help

I'm currently putting a 10 pin harness to the dash in an 88 formula,started project last week noticed the harness part #84-812475a20 has a seperate ground for all the accessories ,and the original had a ground and purple jumper to each accessory . I'm no electrician but Any ideas or thoughts would be appreciated . Should I wire up like the old or just go with it ? Fuel gauge is going to be left out of the black and purple which makes me wonder . -thanks
Old 05-07-2014, 09:18 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Did you order the new harness to match the original? If not, it might be easier to get the correct Merc harness to match the existing. In our case, we have added so much stuff at the dash vs. factory we have added an additional 14-16 wires from the dash to the engine/bilge. We used the 4&6 wire GM WeatherPacks placed close to Merc harness connection that allow us to disconnect/reconnect all the electrical in minutes when we R&R the engines. All connectors only fit one way....good winter project!
Old 05-07-2014, 09:33 PM
Registered

Received 693 Likes on 277 Posts

the merc 10 pin (actually 9) harness runs the gauges and ignition also buzzer. All accessories are wired independent of the harness, though the harness does have a large power wire and ground wire.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]523110[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails Wiring up a 10 pin harness in 88 formula help-instrumentationwiring.jpg  
Old 05-07-2014, 09:35 PM
Registered

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts