Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
Cam and valvetrain longevity....??? low duration high lift... >

Cam and valvetrain longevity....??? low duration high lift...

Notices

Cam and valvetrain longevity....??? low duration high lift...

Old 10-07-2016, 10:42 PM
bck
Charter Member#568
Charter Member

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

Originally Posted by getrdunn
What is your lsa? I forgot.
Pretty sure 112.
Old 10-07-2016, 10:53 PM
bck
Charter Member#568
Charter Member

Originally Posted by MILD THUNDER
Did you try tuning out that dip in torque at 3400?

I remember seeing a video you had posted of one of your dyno pulls. Im no dyno expert, but that was like the fastest dyno pull i had ever seen. What was the sweep rate ? If i recall , seemed like it rev'd from 3000 to 6000 in like a few seconds.

On mine , it was the opposite. 3000-6500rpm took a long time. Wanna say it was like 150rpm per second sweep. I found it quite nerve racking loading the engine that long and hard. My engines would never accelerate that slow in the boat.
I'm going to have to take a look at the final pull and see if that dip was still in it. I'm not 100% sure that dip really exists, maybe some quark with the way the dyno loads when the pull starts? I'll have to take a closer look at the detailed dyno output and see if anything stands out. The first sweeps were way too fast @ 800-1000 rpm/sec. He slowed it down for the later pulls, but still not slow enough. Even though the dyno had a knob that seemed to adjust the sweep rate he said it wasn't that easy? The further along the builds got the less faith I had in his abilities. Ultimately I'm not really satisfied with his work.
Old 10-08-2016, 08:29 AM
Registered

Received 790 Likes on 401 Posts

Originally Posted by bck
Pretty sure 112.
should have used 108,,would have made way more powwa.

who's abilty are you talking about?
Old 10-08-2016, 08:48 AM
bck
Charter Member#568
Charter Member

Originally Posted by sutphen 30