Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
Roller Rockers >

Roller Rockers

Notices

Roller Rockers

Old 12-08-2002, 05:54 PM
Ric232

Default Roller Rockers

I still have the stock rocker arms on my Merc 454 Mag MPI. I've made only minor modifications to the engine (see below). I'm wondering if I should swap to roller rockers, but I've heard the benefits are minimal. I'm looking for input.

1. Are there any advantages other than less friction and less side-load?

2. Are there any disadvantages? Do they have to be re-built/replaced more often the stock rockers? (which last 2000 hrs in come cases).

3. Crane Gold or Comp Pro Magnum?

4. I've heard Crane's are noisier than stock. Anyone else experience this?

5. I'm a shadetree mechanic at best (did the mods below myself). Can I do this swap myself CORRECTLY? How difficult is the adjustment procedure?

Thanks

Old 12-08-2002, 06:11 PM
cheitman

I've always had good luck with Harland Sharp. The rollers free up some friction and are an exact ratio whereas stamped steel are not cast exact in some cases. They say you can see up to 20hp but don't count on it. You probably won't notice any change but they are easier on your valvetrain. As far as lifespan, i've put around 50,000 miles on my Harland Sharps between many motors in my race/street car and never had one fail yet. I am also running a solid roller cam with very high spring pressures. Harland Sharp guarantees them forever also.

Old 12-09-2002, 08:50 AM
Offshore Addiction

Ive got a set of good crane gold race I'llsell you cheap,you should get quicker r's with rollers.........

Old 12-09-2002, 09:18 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thumbs up