Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
502 Refresh... Where do I go????  What should I do???? >

502 Refresh... Where do I go???? What should I do????

Notices

502 Refresh... Where do I go???? What should I do????

Old 01-25-2003, 08:58 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 502 Refresh... Where do I go???? What should I do????

I'm new to South Jersey. What are some recommendations for where to get my 502 Mag MPI refreshed? Also want to add headers and upgrade ECM.

Last edited by Goboat; 01-25-2003 at 09:35 AM.
Old 01-25-2003, 09:19 AM
rpm

Gary, unless you are changing the cam and head configuration along with the headers, there is no reason to have the ECM reprogrammed. I'd also not recommend having your ECM reprogrammed unless you are willing to let the person doing it put it on a dyno and do an engine specific mapping or unless you follow their exact engine build requirements for something that they have done in the past. At best, your system is good for 540 HP and that is with some pretty serious headwork. The Mercruiser intake is very restrictive. If you are looking for more reasonable priced HP, put a carburetor on it.

Rod

Old 01-25-2003, 09:34 AM
Registered

Thumbs up

Thanks rpm. I appreciate the advice.

Not looking to get crazy on the hp (450 hp would be nice). Just want to gain modest improvements to performance while retaining reliability/dependability. Don't want to spend big $$$, but want it done right. I like having EFI and want to keep that. Nothing wrong with motor currently. Has 328 hrs and want to make sure she stays in good shape so I don't have down time during the season. It's been well taken care of. I like to run it, but don't push to extremes for extended periods.

More suggestions???

Last edited by Goboat; 01-25-2003 at 09:41 AM.
Old 01-25-2003, 10:19 AM
blown1500