Water in my tank!!

Notices

Water in my tank!!

Old 02-04-2003, 10:19 AM
Performance Boat Center
VIP Member

Received 20 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Water in my tank!!

I'm new to this one, so I'm looking for some input..

I put in 55 gallons at the local gas station (FYI Boat ran great before). Went for an hour and noticed Starboard engine had a fluctuating tach at 1000RPM.
I figured just crappy gas, like low octane. Boat ran OK at 3,500 + rpm.
I went to flush the engines when the boat was back on the trailer. Starboard engine was a little slow to start, and the port engine wouldn't light at all.

So, I changed the fuel filters last night. Starboard engine lit off OK. Port engine needed quite a bit of starting fluid to get going. (I hate to have to use it)
Got it running, but I can tell she isn't so happy.
I did put two bottles of dry gas in the tank as well.
Do I put the boat in the water and try to run it hard to move this gas through, and then change the filters again? or do I put another 25 gallons of 93 octane from another station in first?
Motors are '99 502 Magnums.

I had 8 years on my old boat and never had to deal with bad gas, and now I have a twin engine boat with bad gas...
954-809-8739
Wright Performance, MTI, Cigarette, Sunsation
Old 02-04-2003, 11:54 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Tim,
I would add more gas from a different station and put in more dry gas.
Old 02-04-2003, 01:01 PM
Registered

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts