Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
out drive lube leaking >

out drive lube leaking

Notices

out drive lube leaking

Old 04-19-2003, 07:09 PM
WES311SR1

Question out drive lube leaking

I have drive lube leaking from water pick-up on lower part of out-drive . What are your thoghts as to where it could be coming from. I think that maybe the O-ring is bad between lower case and upper.

Old 04-20-2003, 06:28 PM
WES311SR1

no ideas ?

Old 04-20-2003, 06:54 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am no drive expert, but that sounds like a crack in the housing to me. You would need 2 o-rings to fail to get gear lube out of the water pickup on a bravo. Try pressurizing the case and using the soapy water spray method looking for bubbles.

BT
Old 04-21-2003, 06:16 PM
WES311SR1

?????????????

Old 04-21-2003, 06:46 PM
Registered

Like on a bycycle inertube. Put some compressed air in the drive (10psi or so) and spray soapy water around. If you see bubbles, you found your leak.

The o-rings on the water intake side really only seal the water pickup tract from sucking air. If that one fails, you may not even notice it, but then again you may get cooling problems. The critical o-ring in the one that seals the lube on the vertical driveshaft. This one keeps the oil in. So the way I see it, you would need the drive shaft o-ring to leak lube out and the water pickup o-ring to let oil leak in to get oil out your water pickup.

I would pressure test it.

BT
Old 04-21-2003, 08:23 PM
WES311SR1

would this be done with the outdrive off ?

Old 04-21-2003, 09:08 PM
Registered