1998 502efi tune up ?

Notices

1998 502efi tune up ?

Old 08-17-2003, 05:34 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1998 502efi tune up ?

do you tune up these efi engines by time (yrs) or hours?and what parts ( plugs, cap , rotor , wires, )
Old 08-17-2003, 07:17 PM
Dennis Moore

Mercruiser suggests an engine tuneup every 100 hours. Spark plugs, cap, rotor, and water/ fuel separator filter. Never needs wires.
Change engine oil and gear oil every 50 hours.
Remove drive and grease U joints, splines, and gimbal bearing every 100 hours.
Dennis Moore
Mercruiser Master Tech

Old 08-17-2003, 10:53 PM
Registered

Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts

Dennis,

You said something in your reply that strikes me as funny. Keep in mind that I am not a professional mechanic and I you've probably forgot more about Merc products than I'll ever know. But, you said "never needs wires". Really? Are you saying they never wear out? I was going to have my engine completely gone through like above. If I don't need to have the tech replace wires I would like to know for sure.

Can you elaborate a little on this?

Buck
Old 08-18-2003, 12:38 AM
Dennis Moore

Go to any Mercruiser dealer and try to buy some wires for an engine. Nobody stocks wires because nobody ever replaces them (if you do find some, the package will be pretty dusty because they have been sitting on the shelf a long time).

The water cooled exhaust manifolds and cool engine compartments keep the spark plug wires in good shape, unlike a car or truck engine.

The biggest problem with most car and truck engines is leaking valve covers from burned valve cover gaskets (again, the hot exhaust manifolds) dripping hot oil onto the wires. The cooler exhaust manifolds don't create burned VC gaskets on a marine engine.

The same holds true for the belts and hoses in the cooler engine compartments of a boat. They usually last the life of a marine engine.