Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
Best Mods for Baja Hammer w/454 >

Best Mods for Baja Hammer w/454

Notices

Best Mods for Baja Hammer w/454

Old 11-20-2003, 01:51 PM
David Haag

Default Best Mods for Baja Hammer w/454

I just purchased a 97 hammer with the 310hp 454. Its stock and I want to know where to start with the mods. I am new to marine engines so I know basically nothing. Dave Haag

Old 11-20-2003, 02:57 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Fuel injected or carbed? If it's fuel injected, lab the prop, and leave it alone. If it's carbed, we can go to work....
Old 11-20-2003, 03:13 PM
Registered

I believe a 97 should be carbed. There are a ton of thread on engine mods for this engine. Do a search and see what you come up with.

Brian

Last edited by Caincando1; 11-21-2003 at 04:19 PM.
Old 11-20-2003, 06:17 PM
Registered

I have a 2001 that was a 310 with fuel injection. I pulled the engine and sold it and put in a 468 with Merlin heads, Crane 731 cam(because I have captain call exhaust), 750 Holley on a Dart intake, and roller rockers. Changed prop to a labbed 25 Mirage plus. Speedo went from 70 to what would be about 84 -85 if the markings went that high. The GPS is 77.8 on a hot day with two aboard and 3/4 tank of gas. The speedo in these things are way optimistic. The boat came alive. I did put add on hydraulic steering which helped considerably, but it would be better if I went to the full system. I am considering going to a shorter lower unit for more speed and better handling.
Old 11-20-2003, 06:27 PM
David Haag

I have the 454 with the carb. I think they have a 454mag with fuel inj. I would like to add around 100hp.

Old 11-20-2003, 06:30 PM
VIP Member
VIP Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Well it's getting cold out (not as cold as where Max & Cain are from, but...) so talking about our off season mods to our boats will have to do...