Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
IMCO or Sportmaster Shorties ??? >

IMCO or Sportmaster Shorties ???

Notices

IMCO or Sportmaster Shorties ???

Old 01-31-2004, 07:54 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default IMCO or Sportmaster Shorties ???

Any suggestions as to which 2" shortie
lower would be better suited on a 42' boat?
I've been told that the IMCO is suited better
on cats and large horsepower V's
Is the Sportsmaster a better choice on heavy
boat with approx. 600HP?
Or doesn't it matter?
Old 02-01-2004, 02:10 AM
Registered

I hear that the IMCO's are faster...
Attached Thumbnails IMCO or Sportmaster Shorties ???-mvc-025s.jpg  
Old 02-01-2004, 05:55 AM
I hate the winter!!
Platinum Member

I am by no means an expert on this, but I have been doing some research on this subject. I am planniong on upgrading power to about the 600-650 h.p. range. But, before I do that ( and to help split up the expense) I am setting up the back of the boat first, ie: tabs, steering, drive. Tabs and steering have been done, so the drive is next. I have called a few sterndrive guys asking for their recommendations on the proper drive for my application, single engine 25' "V" bottom. I have told that my best bet would be a stock Bravo "XR", not one with an Imco lower. The reason I was given is that when the drive is trimmed up for speed, the angle of the cone of the drive would be pointed further down than would be a standard non-bulleted drive. This would cause extra drag.
Now this may be true for my application. Even with this increase of power, I would not be going anywhere near the speeds that some of you guys are going. The benefits or necessity of a bulleted drive might not come into play for me.
What do you guys think??
Old 02-01-2004, 07:45 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally posted by checkmate454mag