Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
OT:  Auto diagnostic scan tools for Jap cars >

OT: Auto diagnostic scan tools for Jap cars

Notices

OT: Auto diagnostic scan tools for Jap cars

Old 02-02-2002, 04:21 PM
kook

Angry OT: Auto diagnostic scan tools for Jap cars

I have never had to deal with anything computer-related on a car before. I am computer literate, an electrical engineer by trade. For the first time ever, I had the dreaded "check engine" light come on in a vehicle I have owned. The vehicle is a '97 Toyota Tacoma with 70,150 miles.

I started surfing the Web on this OBD-II scan stuff, and figured I'd save a ton of time and "cut to the chase" by posting my request for more info/links on this board, as there appear to be quite a few technically competent people here.

I'm looking for something inexpensive (<$200), but would consider spending more, depending on what the unit does. For the near term, I want to find out why the "check engine" light is on - O2 sensor, perhaps? Dunno, but want to try and find out on my own, instead of being at the mercy of ANY dealership. I do NOT have a laptop, and do NOT plan on getting one any time soon. I DO tend to stay with the same make vehicle and my next truck will probably be a Toyota as well, for what that is worth.

Pep Boys sells some simple diagnostic scanners for under $100, but only for American vehicles, so they say. Can someone shed some light on computer diagnostic scanners?

thanks,

Mark

[ 02-02-2002: Message edited by: kook ]

Old 02-02-2002, 08:14 PM
Charter Member #818
Charter Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts