Help-454 MPI Engine won't crank, just clicks >

Help-454 MPI Engine won't crank, just clicks

Notices

Help-454 MPI Engine won't crank, just clicks

Old 05-30-2004, 03:46 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help-454 MPI Engine won't crank, just clicks

My motor ran fine on the hose on the lift. I dropped it in the water, and then just a clicking. Everything dies for a second, blower etc, then comes back after I turn the key. I have tested the batteries, cleaned all the connections at the soloniod and the ground on the motor.

I just had the started replaced last August. I am betting it is the starter. How hard is it to replace one of these on your own. I am far from a master mechanic, but I do struggle through most things.

Any feedback so I can get on the water this weekend would be appreciated.

Thanks,

NetGain
Old 05-30-2004, 04:01 PM
Registered

Default Re: Help-454 MPI Engine won't crank, just clicks

probably the solenoid on the starter. Taking the starter out is easy if you can reach it.Just 2 bolts from the bottom close to the flywheel. I have twins and had to lay across my motor and work upside down,,still a 5 min job. Take your wires off first(kill the power first) and label them so it goes back the same.Make a scetch. Also better if you can have yours rebuilt so you know you have a marine starter(safer)if you have one now,many older boats I've had didn't.
Old 05-30-2004, 04:52 PM

I agree will cooltoys61, probably your solenoid. Check you battery voltage. Should be around 13.5 volts. If below 12.6 your starter may not enough amps to turn. Im not a betting man but I would bet on the solenoid. Just make sure you disconect the battery first before diconnect the starter. Have a good weekend.
Old 05-30-2004, 08:21 PM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts