How do I winterize my 496 MAG >

How do I winterize my 496 MAG

Notices

How do I winterize my 496 MAG

Old 10-11-2004, 03:10 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do I winterize my 496 MAG

First I'd like to say hello to everybody as this is my first boat. I'm new to boating and have what is probably a simple question. 6 weeks ago I purchased a new Baja Islander 242 with the Mag 496 Magcruiser (375 hp version) In reading the small engine manual that came with the boat it says I need to winterize sea/lake pickup part of the closed cooling system. How do I do winterize this part of the cooling system?

Also I heard that when storing my boat for the winter it's a good idea to put some sort of special gel that stops bacteria from growing on the vinyl. What is the brand most commonly used? The boat will be stored in VA.

What about shrink wrapping a boat for winter? Is that necessary or recommended?

Besides unhooking the batteries, filling up the fuel tank and adding fueld stablizier is their anything else I need to worry about.

Thanks!

Sebastien
Old 10-11-2004, 03:18 PM
Beak botr
VIP Member

Default Re: How do I winterize my 496 MAG

Best bet is to go online and order either the full Mercrusier manual for you year engine, or by the equal clymers and follow the instructions to the letter.

My .02

PS- I've not heard of a "jell" for the vinyl, but I've heard armor-all will help.
Old 10-11-2004, 03:55 PM
Registered
VIP Member

There is a drain plug on each side of the lower block just above where the oil pan meets the block. Usually a 9/16 wrench will take them out. Also drain each exhaust manifold or header, there will be drain plugs in those. Make sure you app. does not have a engine oil cooler, if it does pull lower water hose and drain. Pull hose by thermostate and put 1 gallon of non toxic anti freeze. That sould do it. I did my twin 500's this weekend in about two hours.
Old 10-11-2004, 04:01 PM
Registered