How big for the Chesapeak? >

How big for the Chesapeak?

Notices

How big for the Chesapeak?

Old 02-14-2008, 06:45 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How big for the Chesapeak?

I am new to the East cost. Just moved to Maryland from Utah two months ago. I am looking at moving up from my current 22' Advantage to a larger boat. What is a good size boat to be able to take out any day I want in the summer? I have had my boat in 6-8 footers once and that wasn't fun. My old man has a 31' scarab thunder that I have driven quite a bit so twins are a must. I plan on trips to the ocean about once a month or so. I've been looking at Gun's, Bullets, and some 38' Scarabs and 35&38' Formulas.
Old 02-14-2008, 07:12 AM
Registered
Platinum Member

You can't go wrong with any that you listed. Any of those can take more than the passengers can, for the most part. You didn't give any other requirements except seaworthiness, so I'll throw out some suggestions. If you have a family and kids, and your wife/gf wants more wind protection, the Formula would be a better choice with the glass windshield. Also, an enclosed head may be important. My boat offers very little wind protection, but that's what shades are for
The others are more sporty and will probably be a little faster, depending on power. Of course, I'm more partial to the Cigs. Mine's a wave crusher! However, ANY boat on plane running at speed in 8' waves will be taking a beating. Rarely are the waves that big in the bay unless there's some bad weather nearby.

North end of the bay usually isn't quite as rough as the mouth of the bay, but the waves are typically more choppy and closely spaced. seems to me I can run better in 4' in the ocean vice 4' in the bay.
Old 02-14-2008, 07:22 AM
Registered