Lake Havasu Poker Run is in 2 Weeks - Question about Closures

Notices

Lake Havasu Poker Run is in 2 Weeks - Question about Closures

Old 04-21-2011, 10:47 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lake Havasu Poker Run is in 2 Weeks - Question about Closures

Hey Everyone -

I am just getting into this sport and LOVE it so far! It is very exciting and the people seem to be amazing! Anyways, enough a** kissing, here is my question...

I live in Phoenix and want to come out to the Poker Run in Lake Havasu in two weeks. A friend of mine lives out there.

I have been searching online for information about ramp and lake closures for the weekend, without success. I am planning on bringing my Scarab, finding a really good place to anchor and watch the boats run the lake.

Can anyone let me know what the lake and ramp closures are like? Will I be able to get my boat in the water? Will I be able to run it a little? Do they close the entire lake or just sections?

Thanks!!
Old 04-21-2011, 11:29 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You should have no problems. Everything is well marked and the ramps will be open. Enjoy!
Old 04-21-2011, 12:16 PM
Registered

As stated everything should be open. I usually launch from Windsor Beach and head South to anchor up to the side of the course. The whole lake is open, so do what you please. During the poker run waves, just be aware and cautious of bigger, faster boats. Stay to the right side of the lane/river at all times. Standard stuff.
Old 04-21-2011, 05:00 PM
Registered

Dyno pretty much summed it up. No ramp closures on either day. I suggest launching at Cattail or Windsor ramps with your boat. You can enjoy the entire lake. No lake closures on Friday for the poker run, but on Saturday, you will find of all of Thompson Bay closed and new NO-WAKE areas from about Site 6 to near Copper Canyon.