Prop Testing >

Prop Testing

Notices

Prop Testing

Old 04-14-2010, 06:45 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Prop Testing

As I've mentioned in other threads (last year), I'm new to performance boating. I had more than my share of problems last year and ended up burning 2 pistons on my supercharged 502. I had a total rebuid done at the end of the year and went back to stock form. So, I have a fresh 502/415 hp.

I also have an extension box, hydraulic steering, and XR drive.

My performance has been significantly less than all of you have told me it should be. I've taken detailed notes on prop experiences you have noted here. It seems to me that my 280 Silencer should be topping out around the low 60s, cruising at 45 at 4000, and hitting 35 around 3200.

I was thinking last night, maybe because of my inexperience, I'm not driving it right. In all of my testing, I get it up on plane and then tab the bow all of the way up. I then trim about 1/4 up. Am I doing it right? Any other driving tips on tabs or trim I should know about?

Today I'll be testing a hyrdomotive 24P stock. Thanks for your input.
Old 04-14-2010, 11:26 AM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post

You're on St. Clair today? Lucky SOB. In my experience in order to reach top speed you're going to want to trim it up almost all of the way. I'd say trim up gradually until you start to lose speed. I take my boat all the way up then back it down a few clicks. As far as tabs, that's more for handling than speed. I leave mine all the way up. You should not need any tabs to get your boat on plane. I would think mid 60's should be obtainable with your set up.
Old 04-14-2010, 09:53 PM
Registered

Steve!
I'm saddened to hear that things aren't going smooth! I know that you've had some stumbling blocks since you bought the boat, and I hope things turn out great for you this summer my friend!!!