crownline engine upgrade\swap >

crownline engine upgrade\swap

Notices

crownline engine upgrade\swap

Old 06-12-2013, 02:03 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question crownline engine upgrade\swap

Ok everyone im new to the boating world of engine swaps . I have a volvo penta 5.0 in a 2003 crownline lpx and Im wanting to put something like a 8.1 or even a 525 that I saw in classifieds. Like I said im new and dont know what can be used linkage wise from 5.0 or if the outdrive will bolt up or hold the larger engine . Any and all advise opinons and tips would be very welcome. The 5.0 sounds good with captains call on and runs 55 which I didnt think was to bad..... but now that iv had it awhile and been around some friends with jet boats and fountains I really want to stuff a beast in mine .
Old 06-12-2013, 03:04 AM
Registered

Is your 5.0 the GL or MPi. I assume you have a SX drive. The SX drives are beefy and should hold up to big power. Much of the drive life is effected by the driver, easy on sticks and light boat is your friend. Another option rather then a 502 if you want something less radical is a 6.2 MPI. A buddy put one in his 21 bow rider and its a nice boat. Since it is striker SBC it drops right in and is roughly same size/weight etc as your current engine,
Old 06-12-2013, 03:06 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

If you wanted a small block like a 350,383, etc you should be able to transfer all of the stuff from your 5.0. That way you won't increase the weight & get quite a jump in power. Will the drive handle it? don't know, that would depend on how you drive the boat. Any big block & you will have some engineering & fabrication to do. Randy
Old 06-12-2013, 09:03 AM
Registered

Received 34 Likes on 16 Posts